Bergamo

IMG_1509

September 10, 2011

Most people think of Bergamo as the random city, an hour away from Milan, that they have to pass through for Ryanair flights. To quote my Italian friend, “Why did you go there? There’s nothing there!”

I thought it was a quaintly beautiful medieval city, and I am glad to have been able to explore it. It reminded me of a Disney movie, as the city was built on a hill. From the train station, Aileen & I walked to the cable car that took us to the top. The entire place felt very old and calm, a feeling that I didn’t really get in Milan.

We quickly found the city center. It was filled with people lying down on random purple cushions, a color that matched the cute flowers that were planted around the place. The place was full of couples, children, grandparents–pretty much everyone from all walks of life–and everyone was so happy and relaxed.

We went into two churches, but the first one was more memorable to me. It was absolutely gorgeous with its white marble and intricate gold detailing. The crypts in the basement were pretty creepy, but I took pictures of them anyway. The second was larger and had more colors, and a random student band practicing inside. It just amazes me how different each church is, and when I think about the amount of effort and money went into all these churches.

PS – I apologize, I was having a bad photo-taking day. Also, I was really interested in the history of Bergamo, and I encourage all of you to read it as well 🙂

IMG_1431

IMG_1750

IMG_1709

IMG_1605

IMG_1666

IMG_1595

IMG_1638

IMG_1469

IMG_1497

IMG_1523

IMG_1532

IMG_1548

IMG_1542

IMG_1574

IMG_1575
IMG_1588

IMG_1477

IMG_1769

Leave a Reply

